About SLHA


Flora Murray

Flora Murray, OBE (1913-2009) served SLHA for 74 years.

At various times she held office as Administrator, Chairman and Vice-President of the society.

Miss Murray was a well-loved and highly respected figure throughout the County.

SLHA Awards Scheme
Recognising local groups, societies and individuals

SLHA has an awards scheme to recognise the endeavours and achievements of local groups, societies and individuals in the fields of Lincolnshire history and archaeology.

There is one annual award called The Flora Murray Award, consisting of a cheque for £200 and a framed certificate. An occasional award can be granted at the Society's discretion called The SLHA Award for Excellence. This consists of a framed certificate. Both award winners receive free copies of the Society’s journal and magazine for one year.


Groups and individuals are eligible to receive awards. Groups must be operating within the historic county of Lincolnshire. This restriction does not apply to individuals, academics and other professionals who are eligible, provided that their work pertains to the County. Projects in which SLHA (as a society, rather than individual members) has played a major role are ineligible, but if there is doubt please ask us.


Suggested projects suitable for entry to the scheme are published books, exhibitions, lectures, websites, educational resources and village trails, but any project, as long as it focuses on the history and archaeology of the County, is welcome.


Applications for an award must be made on an application form by either the applicant directly or by a third party with the potential award recipient's permission. Download the application form here.


The project should contain sound information and be presented clearly and attractively. The purpose of the project and its target audience should be made clear; indications of success would be helpful. Original ideas and projects that have a ‘wow’ factor will be especially welcome.


A panel of senior SLHA post holders will judge nominations. Their decisions are final. The Society reserves the right not to make any awards in a particular year. 

The panel will consider the following criteria in its judgement:
* Factual content: is the material factually correct, well-chosen and relevant to the theme and purpose of the project?
* Style: is the material presented in a clear and coherent fashion and the information well organised?
* Presentation: is the publication (or other material) well designed, attractive and colourful?
* Appeal: Is the project original or unusual? Does it represent a huge achievement or have a ‘wow’ factor?
* Success: How successful has the project been or likely to be in terms of interest shown and active involvement by the ‘target audience’? Has it met its stated aims?
Applicants should consider these criteria when promoting their project on the application form, although it is recognised that not all applications can be judged equally against all criteria.

Books and other concrete items should accompany application forms where appropriate; if requested they will be returned afterwards. The judging panel should also be given opportunity to visit exhibitions or other events well in advance of the closing date for receipt of entries.


The Flora Murray Award and SLHA Awards for Excellence are usually presented at the Annual General Meeting of the Society, held in October.

Closing Date

The closing date for the 2022 awards is 31 August 2022

Please note that at present the shop is only open three days each week and the office is only manned occasionally, and so it may not be possible to deliver large packages. Please submit your application form and supporting information digitally or by post if it can be posted through a standard letter box. If your supporting information is large and bulky, please let us know and we will contact you to make some other arrangement. secretary@slha.org.                             

Copy of Entry Form for 2022
Illustrated report of Award winners 2011-2016
Illustrated report of Award winners 2017
Illustrated report of Award winners 2018
Illustrated report of Award winners 2019
Illustrated report of Award winner 2020
Illustrated report of Award winners 2021

Award winners 2021

Flora Murray Award
Horncastle History and Heritage Society - an exhibition marking the 50th anniversary of the closure of the Horncastle Railway branch line.

Awards of Excellence
West Lindsey District Council - Pilgrim Roots: Gainsborough's cultural programme for Mayflower 400 (website information and community events)

Louth Museum - Ruth's Blog (Illustrated information bulletins posted on the museum's website)

In the photograph
Chris Bates, exhibition organise for HHHS (left); Ian Marshman, HHHS Chairman (centre), and Ian George, SLHA Chairman (right)